Claire McGowan


I Know You  

When Rachel stumbles on a dead body, she knows what she has to do - run. Tell no one. Because it's not the first time this has happened, and back then she ended up accused of multiple murder, serving years on Death Row. But when she becomes this chief suspect in this murder too, she realises someone may be out to get her - someone who knows who she is and what she did back then. 


The Push

The party should have been perfect: six couples from the same baby group, six newborns, a luxurious house. But not everything has gone to plan, and while some are here to celebrate, others have sorrows to drown. When someone falls from the balcony of the house, the secrets and conflicts within the group begin to spill out …

Also from Claire McGowan...

The Other Wife

Suzi did a bad thing. She’s paying for it now, pregnant, scared, and living in an isolated cottage with her jealous husband, Nick.

When Nora moves into the only house nearby, Suzi is delighted to have a friend. So much so that she’s almost tempted to tell Nora her terrible secret. But there’s more to Nora than meets the eye. It’s impossible—does she already know what Suzi did?


What You Did

It was supposed to be the perfect reunion: six university friends together again after twenty years. Host Ali finally has the life she always wanted, a career she can be proud of and a wonderful family with her college boyfriend, now husband. But that night her best friend makes an accusation so shocking that nothing will ever be the same again.

The Paula Maguire books

Set along the Irish border, this series follows forensic psychologist Paula Maguire and a cross-border team dealing with missing persons in a small Irish town. Paula's got a special insight into missing persons as her mother's been gone since 1993, and a messy personal life to match the complexity of her work. Paula and the team encounter lots of strange and dark cases - read about them below. The series begins with The Lost. 

The Lost

The first book! Paula Maguire is seconded to her hometown of Ballyterrin, full of secrets and a past she just wants to escape. But two teenage girls are missing - is a serial killer at work? Or is the truth even darker?  


The Dead Ground

A baby goes missing from the local hospital in the middle of a heavy snowstorm. A local doctor turns up dead. Hiding a secret of her own, Paula has to investigate several shocking disappearances and murders - could they all be linked to a long-ago atrocity? 

The Silent Dead

The third book sees Paula search for five suspected bombers who've been kidnapped. Would anyone miss them? What does justice even mean? Heavily pregnant, Paula faces her toughest challenges yet. A Metro and Times Crime Novel of the Year 2015. 


Controlled Explosions

An exclusive Paula novella, set in 1998, as 17-year-old Paula deals with loss, love, and a summer of parades and bombs. Features Bob Hamilton and explains what happened to PJ's leg. 

A Savage Hunger

Book four sees Paula struggle to build a life for herself and her family, only to have it all threatened. She must search for a college student who's gone missing from an ancient pagan site, along with a priceless holy relic.   


Blood Tide

In book five Paula is stranded on a remote island, where every inhabitant has become a suspect in the case of a missing couple. Meanwhile, new clues arise in the disappearance of her mother.

The Killing House

When two bodies are dug up at an isolated farmhouse, Paula has to help identify a girl no one seems to be missing. But when she learns there could be a connection to her mother's case, it's suddenly very close to home. 


Other Work

The Fall

Bad things never happen to Charlotte. But her fiancé Dan has been hiding a secret, and the pressure is pushing him over the edge.When he's arrested for killing a nightclub owner, Charlotte's future is shattered.

Then she opens her door to Keisha, an angry and frustrated stranger with a story to tell. What Keisha knows will threaten everyone she loves, and put Charlotte's own life in danger...


Short Stories

Rosie Grant's Finger

Published in the anthology Belfast Noir, 'Rosie Grant's Finger' is a Belfast-set tale of blackmail, corruption, and a seventeen-year-old PI with a Raleigh ten-speed.


Social Media


Broadcast on BBC Radio 4 'Archaeologyis a dark tale of how 'if you just wait long enough, a murder scene becomes archaeology'. It was read by Conleith Hill from Game of Thrones and it sounds spine-tingling in his amazing voice.


What People Say


Erin Kelly

A brilliant, breathless thriller that kept me guessing to the last shocking page


Sunday Mirror

Will keep you riveted until its breathless finish


Marian Keyes

It really had me gripped